T Levels

What are the T Levels?

Launched in 2020, T Levels are brand new two-year technical courses, which are equivalent to three A Levels. We are proud to be the first school-based Sixth Form to be offering these in the region. They are an alternative study options to existing qualifications, such as A Levels and Apprenticeships, and will provide progression routes into skilled and technical employment, or onto higher/ degree apprenticeships and

T Levels will combine the career focus and practical elements of current technical and professional qualifications like BTECs and NVQs, with the theory and study of traditional A Levels. Developed with employers, they are designed to provide the skills and knowledge required to get into a technical career. T Levels will combine classroom study with on-the-job training with an industry placement.

Successful completion of a T Level qualification will gain UCAS tariff points just like A Levels:

More information for parents can be found here

What T Levels can I study?

From September 2023, we will be offering the following T levels

Somerset Studio School Sixth Form Campus
Healthcare Science
Education and Early Years

Craft and Design (September 2025)

Writhlington Sixth Form Campus
Digital Production, Design and Development 

Media, Broadcast and Production (September 2025)

More information about the courses is available in our course outline booklet for Writhlington Sixth Form which can be found here and the Somerset Studio School Sixth Form which can be found here.

There is also the requirement to study English and/or Maths if grade 4 has not already been achieved in these subjects. Achievement at grade 4 will be required to achieve the full T Level qualification. Please speak to us directly to discuss entry requirements.

Applications are open.

How do T Levels work?

T Levels will take two years to complete - focussed on 16-19 year olds after completion of GCSE’s.

Sixth Form Campus
70-80% will be academic and technical study, learning core content, a set of underpinning knowledge, concepts and skills tailored to the chosen industry in year 1 before expanding into specialist training covering occupational specific skills in year 2.

Industry Placement
20-30% of the course is made up of practical experience gained with an employer as part of an industry placement, ensuring a minimum threshold of 315 hours is achieved. This placement will be related to either the occupational specialism or the route qualification, depending on the course chosen. Placements can be undertaken as individual days, or as a block depending on the model that works best for employer, young person and Sixth Form.

Assessment will take place through a combination of externally set exams, an employer-set project and end-point synoptic assessment. There will be ongoing assessment taking place throughout the course to support progress and preparation for such assessments.

The course will include wider digital skills development, employability, enrichment and pastoral elements.

Structure of a T Level

To be awarded a T Level, students will need to complete the following two elements:

1) Technical qualification, which includes: a. core theory, concepts and skills for that industry/sector b. specialist skills and knowledge for an occupation

2) Industry placement with employer

T Level certificates, awarded on successful completion of the course will be nationally recognised and include:

  • The overall grade for the T Level – Distinction* to Pass
  • Separate grade for the core component – A* to E
  • Separate grades for each occupational specialism – Distinction, Merit or Pass.

It will also confirm that the student has:

  • Completed an industry placement
  • Met any additional mandatory requirements, if applicable.

Next Steps

T Levels provide young people with the knowledge and skills they need for a successful future.

T Levels provide progression options for students, including:

  • Skilled employment
  • An apprenticeship/degree apprenticeship
  • Higher education - to help students get into higher education, UCAS tariff points are allocated to T Levels, in the same way they are with A Levels. You can find a list of higher education institutions who accept T Levels for entry onto one of their courses at the highlighted link.

Information for Students, Parents and Employers